Tooth Structure

The structure of the tooth is made up of four parts: enamel, dentin, cementum, and pulp. Enamel is the hard, white surface you see when you view the tooth. It is mostly made of minerals. Dentin is the substance between enamel or cementum and the pulp chamber. Dentin is softer than enamel, decays more rapidly and is subject to severe cavities if not properly treated, but dentin still acts as a protective layer and supports the crown of the tooth. Cementum is a specialized bony substance covering the root of a tooth and lies between the dentin and the pulp. The dental pulp is the central part of the tooth filled with soft connective tissue. This tissue contains blood vessels and nerves, and therefore, is commonly referred to as “the nerve” of the tooth.

For more information on the structure of your teeth, please click here.


Midtown Dental Group

241 West 37th street
New York, NY 10018
(212) 730-4440

130 East 63rd St, Suite 1A
New York, NY 10065
(212) 751-7725


SUN 9:00AM - 1:00PM
MON 8:00AM - 6:00PM
TUE 8:00AM - 6:00PM
WED 8:00AM - 6:00PM
THU 8:00AM - 6:00PM
FRI 8:00AM - 6:00PM

Follow Us

  • MDG Facebook
  • MDG Twitter
  • MDG Youtube
  • MDG Instagram
© 2019 Midtown Dental Group. All Rights Reserved.